Lesson 7: The Less Busy Airspace: G, E, D Pr

airspace legend

Class G, E, and D airspace:

Luckily whether you have a GED or PHD, you can learn the layout of the different airspace that makes up the NAS (national airspace system).

We’ll start off covering just a basic overview of class G airspace, class E airspace, and class D airspace, and leave the busier types, Class A, Class B, and Class C for later.

The Skinny

Here’s what to keep in mind over the next few TOPICS.

  • Class G Airspace is Uncontrolled, ATC does not have anything to do with it, and you don’t need permission to go flying in it.  Even drones can fly in Class G airspace without permission.
  • Class E Airspace is Controlled, but there is no control tower directly connected with airports in Class E airspace.  You do not need permission to enter Class E airspace when flying VFR.
  • Class D Airspace is Controlled and the “primary” airport the Class D airspace covers (the airport in the center of the blue Class D ring) will have a control tower at that airport.  You will need permission to enter Class D airspace from ATC, as well as permission to Taxi, Takeoff, or Land at the primary class D airport.
  • There are six Classes of airspace, A,B,C,D,E,G.  What happened to F?  Class F airspace does not exist in the United States (it is used in some other parts of the world), so we’ll leave it out of this course.

The three most common phrases in aviation are “Was that for us?” “What’d he say?” and “Oh Sh*t!” Since computers are now involved in flying, a new one has been added: “What’s it doing now?”

Ask a Question / Leave a Comment to the Community

Ask a Question and get a fast response from our CFIs